Dinner with the Silers

Menu 11/13 - 11/16

 

Chris and I found these chalkboard wall-clings at (of all places) Paper Source. Chalkboard anything is pretty hip these days. Just ask Pinterest. We liked these because we could have the chalkboard without the work of painting anything and we can’t paint our apartment walls anyway. I can be hip without the commitment. Win!

Anyway.

Our meal plan for the week:

Salsa chicken

This meal was incredibly easy. We probably put in too many chicken thighs, but they were on sale so it was all right. This has fed us for four (4!) meals, which is much more than we anticipated. The good news is that we aren’t sick of it, so that means we will probably make it again. I have a love affair with sour cream and Ortega taco sauce, but this meal really is fine without both of those additions.

Buffalo Chicken Lasagna

The new Mr. & Mrs. Siler really like chicken. And we also really like buffalo chicken. So while this is yet another slow cooker recipe to make in one week, we knew we had to make it. Last week while I was visiting a friend in Ohio we made this meal but it turned out a bit soupy. Here’s hoping that won’t happen with this attempt.

Chunks of chicken aren’t my favorite in meals like this, so I actually boiled the chicken breasts and then shredded the meat. I think it’ll make for a nicer consistency.

Sour Cream Noodle Bake

Not everybody loves The Pioneer Woman’s recipes, but I have enjoyed all the meals from her blog that I’ve made. This one is no different. It satisfies my love for sour cream and pasta all in one meal. It’s safe to say that I would not survive the Paleo diet. Seriously, you guys. No grain or dairy? I just can’t fathom a world without those two food groups.

* * *

You’ll notice that there aren’t any photos. And that’s because I’m not a great photographer and it’s because we like food so much that we eat it before we photograph it. Plus, I’m too busy following recipes to stop and take photos every two minutes. Kudos to people like The Pioneer Woman who can pull it off and still make delicious meals. My food would be brown and crispy if I tried to focus on too many things at once.

What are you cooking this week?

One response

Leave a Reply

